Happy Autumn

I’m feeling nice and ready for autumn this year. Thankfully, since it is here and I am powerless to turn back the clock. I think a well spent summer helped ease me into fall’s onset. I love this time of year when it’s cool at dawn and dusk, but still pleasantly warm at noon, when yellow leaves and late roses co-habit the earth together, and tomatoes and pumpkins can share a space in my grocery basket. Here is one of my favorite autumn poems to help set the mood for the weeks ahead!

Thoughts

By Jacqueline Bouvier

I love the Autumn,

And yet I cannot say

All the thoughts and things

That make one feel this way.

I love walking on the angry shore,

To watch the angry sea;

Where summer people were before,

But now there’s only me.
I love wood fires at night

That have a ruddy glow.

I stare at the flames

And think of long ago.

I love the feeling down inside me

That says to run away

To come and be a gypsy

And laugh the gypsy way.

The tangy taste of apples,
The snowy mist at morn,

The wanderlust inside you
When you hear the huntsman’s horn.

Nostalgia—that’s the Autumn,

Dreaming through September

Just a million lovely things

I always will remember.

Leave a Reply

